Off The Shelf: Series I Love

3

*Originally titled as “Book Series I Love Aside From the Harry Potter Series

Hello! I hope you are doing good. I am back with another “bookish” post, and this time I am going to talk about book series I love aside from the Harry Potter Series.

If you know me personally, you know that there is a huge space in my heart that is reserved for the Harry Potter Series, or more appropriately, The Harry Potter Universe. The influence of J.K. Rowling’s intricate and amazing work in my life is something that I can’t put into words. I literally grew up with her characters, I waited for the books and the movies, bought magazines and anything minutely related to Harry Potter. Yes, I was that kid or adult. Haha!

But of course, since I have a penchant for books, and my love for reading is as crazy as an eight-year old kid who climbed her grandparents’ book shelves just to check if there are other books on the top shelf (she-who-must-not-be-named), I openly embraced reading other book series. And I am going to share a few of them to you in this blog post.

2
Percy Jackson and The Olympians Series

I loved, loved this series. I am very interested with Greek Mythology, and so anything that floats that boat, I have a tendency on grabbing it. And of course, Mr. Riordan did a great job with these books. The first time I was enthralled by the Percy Jackson Universe was actually because of the movie. It piqued my interest, which made me search for the books, because I can’t wait for the next movie to answer my questions, and the rest was history (like me not giving so much care about the movies anymore after reading the books). And you might be wondering why a young woman like me reads these books considered by many as middle grade books? It is simple, I just really like how these books are written. And also, these books saved me from boring semester breaks in college. My favorite book out of the series is the 4th book, Percy Jackson and The Olympians: The Battle of The Labyrinth. You want to know why? Annabeth was super bad-ass in this book.

3
The Heroes of Olympus Series

Of course, if you read The Percy Jackson series, you will not stop there. The Heroes of Olympus opened a new world inside the TPJAO universe. Mr. Riordan was unstoppable and very generous to his readers that he continued the story arc of Percy, Annabeth, Grover, and the rest of the gang without compromising the flow, while introducing us to so much more. In this series, my favorite was definitely the last book, The Blood of Olympus, and my favorite character aside Annabeth, was Leo. NO DOUBT!

 

1
The Hunger Games TrilogyThe Mysterious Benedict Society Collection, The Hogwarts Library Set

The Hunger Games Trilogy has a special place in my heart. The set was one of the first books I bought during my first trip to Manila International Book Fair. We are all very familiar with the story of Katniss Everdeen, the bad-ass and firm girl of District 12 who didn’t bow down to what society wants to do with her life. If dystopian themed books are right up your alley and you haven’t read this series, then I recommend you to take a trip to the bookstore right now and buy the books.

If you are a big fan of Lemony Snicket’s Series of Unfortunate Events and Nancy Drew books, then The Mysterious Benedict Society is probably going to make you very happy. Reynie, Sticky, Kate, and Constance will make you go crazy with their unbelievable talents and wits. These kids are not your ordinary neighborhood kids!!!

This series is good to recommend to a younger brother or sister that shows some sign of becoming a bookworm in the future. It will also help them embrace their quirks and celebrate individuality.

And now we’ve reached full circle. I am going to talk about the “Hogwarts Library Books”. Yes, I know they are part of the Harry Potter universe, but I think they can stand alone from the series. The set contains the books Quidditch Through The Ages, Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them, and The Tales of Beedle The Bard. For a HP fan, these books are great supplements to increase those HP fandom knowledge, and to help you ace those N.E.W.T.s and O.W.L.s, if you know what I mean. 🙂

And for the other series I have read but don’t have my physical copies as of the moment (they are probably with my friends and relatives) that I truly vouch for:

  1. The Queen of The Tearling Series (Go and give yourself a favor, buy the books and read it! You’ll thank me later)
  2. Lemony Snicket’s Series of Unfortunate Events
  3. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Books
  4. Chronicles of Narnia

Do you have any series you really love? Leave me recommendations!

I am on goodreads (it is kind of disorganized though), let’s be friends!

2 thoughts on “Off The Shelf: Series I Love”

Leave a Reply

